When Was The Last Time You Played This Album?

Lyle Lovett, “Pontiac”


Today’s Cool Album of the Day  is Lyle Lovett, “Pontiac.”

I was a music distributor in 1987. I was sitting at my desk when a Senior Vice President named Dennis Sinclair walked in and tossed “Pontiac” on my desk. He said, ‘Check this out, I think you’ll really like it.’ Senior VPs always got their hands on the goodies first.

As I jumped on Route 83 southbound I popped the disc into the player. The first song I heard was ‘If I had a Boat’ second up was ‘Give Me Back My Heart’ then ‘I Loved You Yesterday’ and on an on. OK, Lyle, you got me!

Other wonderful tracks include ‘She’s No Lady, M-O-N-E-Y’ and ‘She’s Hot To Go.’

I loved the variety in Lovett song writing. He can go from sweet ballad to some great up tempo shuffles.

Give a listen for EmmyLou Harris on back round vocals and Vince Gill on vocals and guitar. But also give a special listen for Francine Reed’s great vocal track on ‘She’s Hot To Go.’

On a personal note: ‘If I Had a Boat’ was the favorite song of one of my closest friends Jim ‘Hoss’ Gartland.’ He left us way before anyone should lose a friend like that. I can’t mention that song or hear that song without thinking of him. It proves that you can have a tear in your eye and a smile on your face at the same time.

One response

  1. Once upon a time I thought that I didn’t care for Lyle Lovett. then one day I actually listened to him and learned that I think he’s brilliant. Great choice for a first post.

    August 6, 2010 at 8:49 pm

Leave a Reply

